Svbtle vs. Posthaven

I’m giving Svbtle a try having used Posthaven for a few months. This is a quick comparison of how I find the two and a little commentary on some of the alternatives I’ve considered but haven’t yet tried. See this post on Posthaven.

Background #

I’m fairly new to blogging, I’d been meaning to set up a blog for some time either off based on an existing open source blog/cms or creating my own basic one in Rails or Django but I hadn’t got round to it. I liked the attitude of Posthaven when it appeared, we will charge you money but you get to keep your name for life and I think it came out of the experience of one of the founders losing control of Posterious and it’s shutdown.

Posthaven Summary #

Advantages #

Disadvantages #

Advantages #

Disadvantages #

Self hosting #

I hadn’t got round to getting set up myself so this would sort of defeat the purpose but there are a few options that I would consider.

Conclusion #

I’m not quite happy with either for different reasons, will probably self host in the future.

The scripts from Google and Facebook will probably cause me to move away from Posthaven fairly soon. I use Noscript to avoid them when I am browsing and I would prefer not to impose them on readers as that would be hypocritical (although it does work fine without them if they are Noscript users).

As for Svbtle while I quite like the design and using Markdown but the lack of current business model bothers me and I’d rather migrate at my time of choosing than when they announce some new policy.

 
117
Kudos
 
117
Kudos

Now read this

A Week with Docker

This is a test post on svbtle, it will also be posted at my usual site for such things: blog.human-friendly.com which is thus far hosted on Posthaven. It is a bit of a brain dump rather than a fully polished and edited post, in the... Continue →